top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenailahmutheu

Life Update

Updated: Jun 11, 2020



Happy new year!


Yes, it's April and the last time I was here was many months ago so this is very valid.

So many things have happened in between then and now so let me bring you up to speed.

Let's catch up, why don't we?


Making: a lot of lists to help me prioritize and stay organized.

Cooking: more often now that most of us are indoors and there's time to experiment with recipes.

Drinking: wine, wine, wine. Being indoors is making me enjoy wine a lot more - I love it.

Reading: two books a month. Set that goal at the beginning of the year; so far so good.

Wanting: to have the freedom to decide whether I want to be outside or not; not having the decision made for me.

Looking: to widen my skin care collection this year as I learn more about ingredients and the roles they play.

Playing: those funny games on Instagram when I get bored.

Deciding: to step out of my comfort zone was the best thing I did for myself. 10/10 would recommend.

Wishing: I had a dog now more than ever.

Enjoying: and appreciating RnB so so much more. The best genre of music there is.

Waiting: to get my first big girl plant and be a plant mom. I know the plant I'd like and already have a name for it. All that's left is the actual plant.

Liking: the woman I'm becoming. I'm in love with her if we're being completely honest.

Wondering: how people manage people. I'm heading the Nairobi Chapter of the Podcast Brunch Club and wheeew! Coordinating people is something else! I'll talk about the PBC in another post though.

Loving: working out. Who would have thought! I think I was born for home workouts and yoga. That is my fitness calling.

Pondering: over a project I want to launch for 2021 but want to be done with by October.

Considering: getting temporary locs so that I don't have to worry about taking care of my hair or my next braiding appointment but at the same time concerned I'll get bored of them pretty fast.

Watching: FRIENDS! As usual. Looking to start Sex and the city though. I can't believe I've never watched it.

Hoping: to create some good quality content in the coming weeks.

Coveting: Sean Garrette's skin. OMG!!!!!!!!

Helping: myself to a lot of screen time which is pretty unhealthy. I don't like it.

Marveling: at how extroverts are really struggling with being indoors. Like it's actually fascinating.

Needing: and praying for the discipline to stop buying things impulsively online.

Smelling: and obsessing over fragrances. Curated a fragrance wish list the other day.

Wearing: lounge wear day in, day out - bandeaus, tights, sweats, and little dresses some days.

Following: a couple of fitness moguls to fuel my motivation.

Noticing: how much I've become a people's person of late. I was rather confused at first but it's a great networking tool and tbh it's not too bad.

Knowing: that despite everything, 2020 will continue to be a great year!

Thinking: about my friends a lot and trying to check in with each of them to make sure we're all sane.

Admiring: the consistency by creators during this period. It's making them a whole lot more creative.

Buying: more shoes this year. It's high up there on my priority list.

Getting: up at 7.30am everyday. Go me!

Bookmarking: blogs and podcasts for creators. I'll do a blog post sometime in the near future of my current favorites.

Disliking: the uncertainty around COVID-19. When will it really be controlled? Will things actually get back to normal? How will countries, companies and businesses recover from all this? There are so many unanswerable questions around it.

Opening: a bag of Ola's every other day! I was put onto these chips when I was in Meru for work and I've been obsessed ever since. Cool crunch is my favorite flavor!

Feeling: really good about the health decisions I'm making.


Are we up to speed now?

This post is always my way of "making it up" any time I take time off of blogging and I don't like it but - it gives me a lot of perspective with where I'm at in general while at the same time letting you guys know what I've been up to.

I intend to be really consistent with my writing/blogging going forward. Please have some faith in me. Thank you!


xx


As you go through life, grow through it.

Nailah.


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page